hermitage museum

#mevoymefui to connect

I’m sitting on the flight home and I can’t help but think back to 10 days ago. I was also sitting on the plane but felt like a little girl again excited to see my parents after 7 months. The last time we were apart for so long was when I lived in NYC and I remember having the same feeling. There comes a time when you live far away from home, that you simply need to spend some time with them. I moved to Barcelona in August to get my master in business administration and even though time has flown by, I couldn’t hide the excitement anymore.

travelparents

The best part was that we were meeting in Helsinki and then traveling to St. Petersburg, so it was going to be only the four of us for 1 whole week in amazing unknown cities ready to be explored by us. We met in Helsinki on a Sunday, which was not planned but kind of perfect because everything was closed so we felt no remorse about having a 3 hour lunch just talking, catching up and hiding from the cold. Even though my mom and I talk on a regular basis, my dad and I don’t really because whatsapp is not our best way to communicate with our fast-paced lifestyles, we need to take a break and spend time in person.  We had a lot to catch up on and at the same time, it felt as if we had been never been apart. I love that feeling.

The best thing about travelling together is that there are no external interruptions. When you are in your hometown, people call on the phone while you’re having lunch or coffee; traffic and stress limit enjoying quality time and there are millions of activities with friends and family. Here, we only had each other and there was only quality time and we really took advantage of it. My parents and I are really close but it’s easy to let distance get in the way sometimes so it’s nice to take the opportunity to escape together somewhere were we can reconnect as we did in this trip.

hermitage museum with parents

After 1 week, we were all on our way back to reality and our fast-paced lives. I’m not complaining, I love my current fast-paced student life, but it’s nice to have time to take it slow and think; even though the cities we visited had so much history and we walked and learned a lot, it was a different pace than our day to day lives.

If you have the opportunity to explore a new city with your parents, do it. It’s a great way to connect and get to know each other better on different levels. After a week together, you will have the energy to go back to your reality and keep going until again you feel this magnetic pull to spend time with them. It was special, after all, thanks to them I have the passion for travel and adventure.

family

Leave a Reply

